Division L of AERA is seeking nominations for the following awards that will be given

at the Annual Meeting in April, 2014 in Philadelphia, PA


Rationale: The award will recognize a scholar whose initial career (the first seven years

past the receipt of the doctorate) shows a high level of productivity.  This productivity

will be reflected in the quality and impact of the recipient’s research.   The field of

educational policy research has generated a number of excellent researchers who deserve

broad recognition.  This award will be offered every other year and will alternate with the

Lifetime Achievement Award.  

Selection/Eligibility: In selecting a winner, the criteria to be considered will be the quality

and impact of the candidate’s work.  The winning candidate should have received the

doctorate no more than seven years before the time when nominations for the award are

due and must be a member of Division L of AERA.   

Nomination Process: For a candidate to be considered, the committee requires

a nominating letter and two supporting letters.  These letters should describe the

candidate’s research contributions to the field of educational policy.  They should

describe the quality of the research, including--as appropriate--its rigor, insight,

contribution to policy research, and/or contribution to policy or policy debates.  This

material should be sent to the chair of the Early Career Award Selection Committee,

Jeffrey Henig at by October 15, 2013. Put DIVISION L

EARLY CAREER AWARD NOMINATION in the subject line.  

Committee: Jeff Henig, Russ Rumberger, Jane Hannaway, Lora Cohen-Vogel, Sonya




The award will recognize an outstanding research report that makes the contribution

of analyzing, evaluating or critiquing educational policy.  The membership of AERA

consistently conducts research that contributes to the development of educational policy

and dialogue and debate about such policy. This award will bring attention to one

exceptional contribution every year.


Only one award will be given each year.  In 2014, the award will be given to an article or

research report or policy brief of no more then 35 pages in length. The award will not

be given for a body of work, but rather for a single report that demonstrates excellence in

two areas:

1. Quality of the research (with the standards of quality applied being appropriate to the

methodology of the report in question).

2. Impact, which may include evidence that the document in question has been used

by policy makers, has changed the public debate or dialogue about a policy area in a

jurisdiction, or has substantially advanced a research field.

To be eligible for consideration, the following rules will apply:

1. Research reports must have been published between January 1, 2010 and the present.

2. At least one author must be a member of Division L of AERA.

3. The report must be no more then 35 pages in length.

Reports that do not meet these criteria will not be reviewed.

The nomination must include the following items:

1. A copy of the report that is nominated.

2. A letter of nomination from a member of Division L of AERA.

3. Documentation of the research impact.

Research reports may be nominated by a report author or by a “user” or other reader.

Please send information to the Chair of the Outstanding Research Report Award

Committee, Luis Huerta at by October 15, 2014.  Put


Committee members: Luis Huerta, Gerardo Lopez, Janelle Scott, Chris Lubienski, &

Morgan Polikoff


Rationale:  The purpose of the AERA Division L Outstanding Dissertation Award is to

recognize the exceptional research accomplishments of recent doctoral graduates.

Eligibility:  To be eligible, dissertations must have been completed and successfully

defended between August 16, 2012 and August 31, 2013.

Dissertations employing any theoretical and methodological orientation may be

nominated as long as they make an important contribution to education policy. At the

time the dissertation is being considered, the author must be a member of Division L of


Nomination Process:  Nominations must be submitted by a faculty member of the

nominee's doctoral degree granting institution by October 15, 2013.  The nomination

package should include a nomination letter, a 3- to 4-page summary of the dissertation, a

copy of the dissertation, and current contact information for the nominee.

The required information should be sent electronically to Division L Outstanding

Dissertation Award Chair, Peter Youngs ( Put "Div L Dissertation

Award" in the subject line.  Each dissertation must be sent as an Adobe PDF file.  

Nomination packages will then be forwarded to the award selection committee.

Committee members: Peter Youngs, Dana Mitra, Ben Pogodzinski, Min Sun, Gerardo

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH