History & Historiography (F)
Welcome to the Division F Website

Division F is dedicated to the study and practice of history and historiography. We look forward to seeing all of you at the 2017 Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas. We anticipate a wonderful program planned under the direction of Ann Marie Ryan. Also, Jon Hale is planning a mentoring seminar for our graduate students and new professors. Stay tuned for more information on the conference.

Mentoring Opportunities

This year’s Division F Mentoring Seminar, “Historians and the Call to Action: Leadership and Public Engagement in the History of Education” will be held on Wednesday, April 26 from 6:15-9:00 p.m. and Thursday, April 27 from 8:15-11:45 a.m. The mentoring seminar will address critical issues stemming from a shifting social, political and economic context that demands exemplary research, teaching and service from historians of education. This seminar will provide panel discussions led by distinguished leaders in the field. It will also place accepted applicants with a mentor to foster professional development and cultivate a lasting professional relationship.

If you are a graduate student or junior faculty interested in participating in the Division F Mentoring Seminar, please submit both a curriculum vitae and cover letter addressing the following components: 1) your research interests; 2) progress in your graduate program or your career path; and 3) how you plan to utilize the seminar for the advancement of your career. Please also indicate whether you have attended a Division F mentoring program before. You can email applications (and any questions) with the subject heading “Division F Mentoring Seminar Application” to Jon Hale at halejn@cofc.edu.

The application is due February 17 and participants will be notified by March 3. AERA will provide participants $100 to help defray travel and lodging costs. Spaces are limited, so please apply or encourage graduate students and junior faculty to apply early.

Division Newsletters

Division F awards a prize of $300 annually for the best graduate student paper presented at AERA in the field of educational history. Nominations by faculty, graduate advisors, discussants, chairs, and self-nominations by students are welcome. 

Learn More
Who We Are
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH