2016 Annual Meeting Memorial Sessions
2016 Annual Meeting Memorial Sessions
Special sessions honoring the lives and legacies of leaders in education research

Each year at the Annual Meeting AERA acknowledges those members who have died in the previous year. One form of acknowledgement is the scroll of deceased members shown at the Annual Awards Luncheon. Another is the recognition provided at business meetings of the individual SIGs and Divisions. In addition, a number of sessions included in the program are designed to commemorate the work of deceased scholars.

This year there are six commemorative sessions planned for the Annual Meeting. Full details are available in the online program.

Past Presidents

Robert Linn – The Life and Contributions of Robert L. Linn
Saturday, April 9, 4:05 -7:00 p.m.
Convention Center, Level 2, Room 202 A

Co-sponsor: Division D
Co-chairs: Lorrie Shepard and Eva Baker
Participants: H. Dee Hoover, Scott Marion, Damian Betebenner, Lauress Wise, Stephen Dunbar, Edward Gordon, Michael Feuer, Eva Baker, Joan Herman, Lorrie Shepard, Daniel Koretz, Lorraine McDonnell, Vonda Kiplinger, Richard Shavelson, Kenji Hakuta, Lloyd Bond, Joseph Conaty, Emerson Elliott, Bella Rosenberg, Richard Duran, Kadriye Ercikan, George Bohrnstedt, Marshall Smith

Link to Session

Philip Jackson – Philip W. Jackson, In Memoriam: The Importance of Enduring Questions in Education
Saturday, April 9, 10:35 a.m. - 12:05 p.m.
Convention Center, Level 3; Ballroom C

Chair: Mary Erina Driscoll
Participants: David Hansen, Rene Arcilla, Robert Boostrom, Linda Darling-Hammond, Catharine Bell

Link to Session

Jane Stallings – The Life and Contributions of Jane A. Stallings
Saturday, April 9, 8:15 - 9:45 a.m.
Convention Center; Level 2; Room 204 B

Chair: Stephanie Knight
Participants: Andrew Porter, Barak Rosenshine, Hersh Waxman, Douglas Palmer, Donna Wiseman.

Link to Session

Additional commemorative sessions

Joshua Fishman – The Life and Legacy of Joshua Fishman: Seminal Contributions to Sociolinguistics and Human Development
Friday, April 8, 12:00 - 2:00 p.m.
Convention Center; Level 2; Room 202 B

Co-sponsors: Division B; SIGs: Bilingual Education Research, Research in Reading and Literacy, Second Language Research
Chairs: Rosalind Horowitz, Francine C. Falk-Ross
Participants: Terrence Wiley, Nancy Hornberger, Kenji Hakuta, Stanton Worthham, Ofelia Garcia, Asya Vaisman Schulman

Link to Session

Herbert Kliebard – Herbert M. Kliebard and the Struggle for Curriculum Study: Celebrating a Scholar's Life
Saturday, April 9, 4:05 - 7:00 p.m.
Convention Center, Level 2, Room 207 A

Sponsor: Division B
Chair: Kenneth Teitelbaum
Participants: Michael Apple, Beverly Gordon, Linda McNeil, Reba Page, Thomas Popkewitz, John Rudolph

Link to Session

Diane Pollard – The Life and Contributions of Diane S. Pollard
Saturday, April 9, 2:15 to 3:45 p.m.
Convention Center, Level One, Room 144 C

Co-sponsors: SIG: Research Focus on Black Education and Research Focus on Women
Chair: Olga Welch
Participants: Arnetha Ball, Wanda Blanchett, Linda Tillman, Michael Dantley, Amina Pollard

Link to Session

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH