2019 Awards Recipients

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award
Recipient: Robert Slavin (Johns Hopkins University)
The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research. It is designed to publicize, motivate, encourage, and suggest models for education research at its best. 







Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award
Recipients: Shanyce L. Campbell (University of California, Irvine), Matthew Ronfeldt (University of Michigan)
Observational Evaluation of Teachers: Measuring More Than We Bargained for?”
American Educational Research Journal, Volume 55, Issue 6, December 2018
This award recognizes the lifelong achievement of Palmer O. Johnson as a dedicated educator and for his pioneering work in educational research and methodology. The award is given for an outstanding article appearing in an AERA-sponsored publication.

E.F. Lindquist Award
Recipient: Mark Wilson (University of California, Berkeley)
This award is presented jointly by AERA and ACT in recognition of outstanding applied or theoretical research in the field of testing and measurement. The award is meant to acknowledge a body of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature rather than a single study.

Early Career Award
Recipient: Jeannette Mancilla-Martinez (Vanderbilt University)
Established to honor an individual in the early stages of his or her career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree, this award is granted for study in any field of educational inquiry.

Outstanding Book Award
Recipient: Elizabeth Todd-Breland (University of Illinois at Chicago)
A Political Education: Black Politics and Education Reform in Chicago Since the 1960s
The Outstanding Book Award was established to acknowledge and honor the year’s best book-length publication in education research and development.

Social Justice in Education Award
Recipient: James L. Moore III (Ohio State University)
Established in 2004, the Social Justice in Education Award honors an individual who has advanced social justice through education research and exemplified the goal of linking education research to social justice.

Distinguished Public Service Award
Recipient: Former Rep. George Miller (U.S. Congress)
This award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that are well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research.

Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award
Recipient: sj Miller (Literacy Educator and Curriculum Specialist, Monte del Sol Charter School, Santa Fe Public Schools)
Established in 2006, the Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award recognizes individuals within AERA for distinguished research, professional practice, and activities that advance public understanding of gender and/or sexuality at any level in the education community.

Excellence in Media Reporting on Education Research
Recipient: Jill Barshay (The Hechinger Report)
Established in 2016, this award recognizes a person who has made noteworthy contributions to reporting on findings, bodies of research, or scholarship in the field of education research in any medium of public communication. The award honors a media professional whose work exemplifies promoting a broader vision of the value of education research to society.

Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research
Recipient: Cristina Santamaría Graff (Indiana University, Purdue University, Indianapolis)
This award is presented to an education research scholar or scholars in recognition of collaborative project(s) between researchers and practitioners that have had sustained and observable effects on contexts of practice.

Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research
Recipient: Jamila Lyiscott (University of Massachusetts, Amherst; Teachers College, Columbia University)
This award is presented to an education research scholar or scholars in recognition of collaborative project(s) between researchers and practitioners that have had sustained and observable effects on contexts of practice.









Review of Research Award
Recipients: Seth A. Parsons (George Mason University), Margaret Vaughn (University of Idaho), Roya Qualls Scales (Western Carolina University), Melissa A. Gallagher (University of Louisiana, Lafayette), Allison Ward Parsons (George Mason University), Stephanie G. Davis (University of North Carolina, Greensboro), Melissa Pierczynski (Grand Valley State University), Melony Allen (Alamance-Burlington School System)
Teachers’ Instructional Adaptations: A Research Synthesis.” Review of Educational Research, Volume 88, April 2018
This award is given in recognition of an outstanding review of research article appearing in the Review of Research in Education or the Review of Educational Research.

Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards
The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education awards are intended to recognize (a) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations, and (b) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to education research and development.    

  • Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award
    Recipient: Patricia A. Edwards (Michigan State University)
    Presented to a senior-level scholar, usually 20 years or more after his or her receipt of a doctoral degree.

  • Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award
    Recipient: Karolyn Tyson (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
    Presented to a scholar in mid-career who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree. 

  • Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
    Recipient: Aydin Bal (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
    Presented to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career after receipt of a doctoral degree.


For additional information or answers to your questions regarding the AERA Awards Program, please contact the Governance Department at

Call for Award Nominations

2018 AERA Awards Luncheon

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH