Learning and Teaching in Educational Leadership SIG 129


LTEL offers two awards:

The Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award is the result of merging the former Distinguished Research Award and former Outstanding Service Award, which were awarded biennially according to an even- or odd-numbered year cycle. The faculty award, which can be given annually, recognizes a significant contribution made by a professor to the broad field of educational leadership and administration preparation and development through moving forward practice, policy or research aligned with LTEL SIG’s purposes.

The Robert Kottkamp Outstanding Dissertation Award recognizes a recent doctoral graduate as well as her or his dissertation advisor for research, evaluation, or scholarship that aligns with the LTEL SIG goals, mission, and purpose research. The dissertation, successfully defended during the previous calendar year, may investigate educational leadership preparation and development programs, assess the impact of preparation on leadership practice, examine policy issues related to state or national leadership standards assessment and credentialing, or contribute through disciplined inquiry to the knowledge base about learning and teaching in educational leadership. The dissertation award also recognizes the contributions by former SIG Chair Robert Kottkamp (emeritus professor at Hofstra University) and co-founder of the UCEA/LTEL SIG Taskforce on Evaluating Leadership Preparation Programs.