Who We Are


SIG Elected Officers

2021-2022 Officers


SIG Chair

Chair:  Sue Kasun skasun@gsu.edu

Sue Kasun, PhD, recognizes the field of education is at a critical moment in as a species we need to be able to make agreements in harmony toward maintaining life in the face of political and climate crises. As an associate professor of language education at Georgia State University, she is founding Director of the Center for Transnational and Multilingual Education. She completed a yearlong Fulbright Award in Mexico in 2018 focused on understanding transnational experiences of youth in the Mexican education system and leads annual trips into Mexico to learn dynamic ways of engaging transnational realities from Mexican organizations, most recently among indigenous Totonaca elders in Veracruz, Mexico.

Program Chair   Maryam Sadat Sharifian: sharifms@jmu.edu

Dr. Maryam Sharifian is an Assistant Professor at James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Virginia in Early Childhood Education. Her research interests include War Zone Education, Teacher Training in Conflict Areas, Teacher Resilience and Burnout, and Refugee Children Education and Wellbeing. She worked with children of undocumented Afghan immigrants, school girls in rural Tanzania and street children in Iran. In addition, Dr. Sharifian is a PI on several grants such as Preschool Development Grant (PDG), Mixed Delivery, Shared Training Education and Professional Services (S.T.E.P.S.), and several others to increase quality of early childhood education in vulnerable population.

Secretary

Shireen Keyl, Ph.D.


Appointed Officers

Membership Assistants

Kristen Woitek 

Sandra Candel, Ph.D. 


Newsletter Co-Editors

Maryam Saroughi, Ph.D. msarough@gmu.edu 

Zurisaray Espinosa 

ThuyThuy  Tu ttu2@masonlive.gmu.edu


Webmasters

 Sungshim Choi schoi23@gmu.edu

 Yan Huang  yhuang7@masonlive.gmu.edu


Communications Specialist

Beth Marks 


Past Chairs

2020-2021  Margareth Lafontant: lafontantm@aol.com 

       margareth-lafontant-medgar-evers-id-picture

2019-2020  Shelley Wong: swong1@gmu.edu

shelley wong 1

2018-2019   Ilham Nasser:  ilham@iiit.org

       

 

2017-2018      linda picket:  pickettl@gvsu.edu

2016-2017    candice c. carter: ccarter@peacemaker.st

 

>>