Huberman Award

Every two years, the Lives of Teachers SIG (AERA) presents the Michael Huberman Award to a scholar who has distinguished her/himself for outstanding scholarship on the lives of teachers.

Eligibility Criteria for the Huberman Award

The Huberman Award shall be given to an individual who has contributed outstanding scholarship to the Lives of Teachers community of teachers and scholars that (1) furthers understanding of the rich complexity of teachers’ lives, (2) captures teachers’ perspectives and teachers’ voices, (3) transcends national boundaries in its scope and applicability, and (4) seeks to identify and highlight the unique qualities that characterize the profession of teaching.  The recipient of this award will have disseminated his or her scholarship through publications, presentations, and other collegial activities that promote interest in the study of the lives of teachers.

Previous winners of this prestigious award:

Ivor Goodson (University of Brighton, UK;  2005) 

Robert Bullough (Brigham Young University; 2007) 

Christopher Day (Nottingham University, UK; 2011), 

Jean Clandinin (University of Alberta, Canada; 2013)

Cheryl Craig (University of Houston; 2015)