AERA Announces 2013 Award Winners in Education Research


AERA Announces 2013 Award Winners in Education Research

WASHINGTON, D.C., April 4—The American Educational Research Association (AERA) today announced the winners of its 2013 awards for excellence in education research. AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at an awards ceremony luncheon on April 29 at the AERA Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

“We are proud to honor the outstanding commitment and accomplishments of this year’s award winners,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “Through their scholarship and service to the field, they stand as exemplars to AERA’s 25,000 members and to all who are committed to the study and practice of education in the United States and elsewhere.”  

AERA announced 15 award winners in 14 association-wide categories.

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award

Recipient: Alan H. Schoenfeld, University of California, Berkeley  

The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research. It is designed to publicize, motivate, encourage, and suggest models for education research at its best.

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award

Recipients: Andrew Ho, Harvard Graduate School of Education, and Sean F. Reardon, Stanford University, “Estimating Achievement Gaps From Test Scores Reported in Ordinal Proficiency Categories,” Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics, August 2012

The Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award is presented annually to recognize the highest quality of academic scholarship published in one of the following AERA publications: American Educational Research Journal, Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis, Educational Researcher, or Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics.

Review of Research Award

Recipient: Odis Johnson Jr., University of Maryland, “Relocation Programs, Opportunities to Learn, and the Complications of Conversion,” Review of Educational Research, June 2012

The Review of Research Award recognizes an outstanding review of research article published in one of the following AERA publications: Review of Educational Research or Review of Research in Education.

Relating Research to Practice Award

Established to recognize outstanding contributions that individuals have made toward increasing the understanding and proliferation of links between education research and enhanced education practice, this award is granted for excellence in each of two categories:

Interpretive Scholarship

Recipient: Elfrieda (Freddy) H. Hiebert, University of California, Santa Cruz

This category recognizes an individual’s achievements in published works that appear in sources other than peer-reviewed journals or books.

Professional Service

Recipient: Margery B. Ginsberg, University of Washington

This category recognizes an individual who has effectively established a strong, beneficial relationship between education research and practice through direct involvement with the education community.

E. F. Lindquist Award

Recipient: Eva Baker, University of California, Los Angeles

This annual award is presented jointly by AERA and ACT in recognition of outstanding applied or theoretical research in the field of testing and measurement. The award is meant to acknowledge a body of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature rather than a single study.

Early Career Award

Recipient: Michael N. Bastedo, University of Michigan

Established to honor an individual in the early stages of his or her career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree, this award can be granted for study in any field of educational inquiry.

Outstanding Book Award

Recipient: Christopher P. Loss, Vanderbilt University, Between Citizens and the State: The Politics of American Higher Education in the 20th Century (Princeton University Press), 2012

The Outstanding Book Award was established to acknowledge and honor the year’s best book-length publication in education research and development.

Social Justice in Education Award

Recipient: Jeannie Oakes, Ford Foundation

Established in 2004, the Social Justice in Education Award honors an individual who has advanced social justice through education research and exemplified the goal of linking education research to social justice.

Distinguished Public Service Award

Recipient: Freeman A. Hrabowski III, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

This award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that are well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research.

Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards

The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education awards are intended to recognize (a) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations, and (b) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to education research and development.

Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award

Recipient: Jo-ann Archibald, University of British Columbia

Presented to a senior-level scholar, usually 20 years or more after his or her receipt of the doctoral degree.

Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award

Recipient: Sharon Nelson-Barber, Pacific Resources for Education and Learning

Presented to a scholar in midcareer who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree.

Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award

Recipient: Vichet Chhuon, University of Minnesota

Presented to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career after receipt of the doctoral degree.

Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award

Recipient: Geraldine J. Clifford, University of California, Berkeley

Established in 2006, the Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award recognizes individuals within AERA for distinguished research, professional practice, and activities that advance public understanding of gender and/or sexuality at any level in the education community.

Media Contact: Tony Pals,, office: (202) 238-3235, cell: (202) 288-9333

About AERA

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the national interdisciplinary research association for more than 25,000 scholars who undertake research in education. Founded in 1916, AERA aims to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.