AERA Members Cheryl Logan and Roy Pea Win 2022 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education

September 2022

AERA members Cheryl Logan and Roy Pea have been awarded the 2022 Harold McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education for Pre-K–12 Education and Learning Science Research, respectively. The announcement was made September 27 by the McGraw Family Foundation and the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education.

Cheryl Logan

Logan has served as superintendent of Omaha Public Schools since 2018. The foundation praised her “innovative leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic and her commitment to providing opportunities for students to achieve at their highest potential.”

Pea, an AERA Fellow, is the David Jacks Professor of Education and Learning Sciences at Stanford University. The foundation states that as “a pioneer in learning sciences research, Roy Pea has been instrumental in pulling back the curtain on how and why people learn.”

Roy Pea

The McGraw Prize in Education honors people who make lasting advancements for students across the United States and around the world. Past winners have included teachers, professors, public officials, and nonprofit leaders.

“We are thrilled to celebrate these two AERA members and scholars who have gone above and beyond to advance the field,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “Their work is at the forefront of change and transformation in education.”

Logan received her master’s degree in education from Johns Hopkins and her EdD from University of Pennsylvania. Before going to Omaha Public Schools, she served as chief academic officer in the Philadelphia school district.

Pea received his PhD in developmental psychology from the University of Oxford. In addition to being an AERA Fellow, he is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Education, the Association for Psychological Science, and the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences.