AERA Executive Director Addresses 2018 ERAS-APERA International Conference in Singapore

November 2018

Felice J. Levine, AERA; 
Low Ee Ling, National
Institute of Education/Nanyang
Technological University;
Lim Kam Ming, Educational Research
Association of Singapore

On November 13, AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine delivered a keynote address during the 2018 Educational Research Association of Singapore (ERAS)–Asia-Pacific Educational Research Association (APERA) International Conference. The event, attended by more than 300 delegates from 22 countries, was held at the National Institute of Education at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore. Established in 1986, the ERAS-APERA International Conference advances educational excellence in Singapore and the surrounding region through the conduct, promotion, and use of relevant education research, and aims to connect research with policymaking and practice for the benefit of the next generation of learners.

Levine’s keynote address, “Open Science in Education Research–A Worldwide Challenge and Opportunity,” focused on the ways in which the principles and practices of open science can build a more robust education science that is trusted, valued, and has greater impact worldwide. 

During her remarks, Levine reviewed many of the concepts, principles, and elements of open science, underscoring the importance of scientific collective responsibility and data sharing in shifting from the standard practices of publishing research results towards sharing and using all available knowledge at an earlier stage in the research process. Levine also called for further expansion of a 2010 Singapore Statement on Research Integrity to include explicit open science commitments.

Felice J. Levine, AERA

Other keynote speakers at the conference included Rebecca Ang (National Institute of Education/Nanyang Technological University), Benjamin Cleveland (University of Melbourne), Christine Goh (National Institute of Education/Nanyang Technological University), Woon Chia Liu (National Institute of Education/Nanyang Technological University), Winnie So (Education University of Hong Kong), and John Wang (National Institute of Education/Nanyang Technological University).