Annual Meeting Presidential Address and Major Lectures Are Not to Be Missed

March 2021

Shaun Harper

AERA President Shaun Harper’s presidential address and major lectures by preeminent scholars in the field of education research promise to be intellectually engaging, thought-provoking, and stimulating.

In his address titled “We Share Responsibility,” Harper will inspire researchers to accept individual and collective responsibility for complex educational and social problems. He will present a citizen-scholar model that aims to make education research useful in addressing threats to democracy, the miscarriage of justice in and out of schools, and assorted acts of violence against diverse populations in the U.S. and across the globe. Throughout his address, Harper will emphasize courage, actionable intelligence, transdisciplinary collaboration, and inclusive coalitions that meaningfully engage various publics.

Harper’s address will be held Monday, April 12, 1:00–2:00 p.m. ET.

The 2021 lineup of distinguished lectures and award lectures will be expanded to include several that were scheduled for the 2020 Annual Meeting before it was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“We are thrilled to complement Dr. Harper’s important presidential address with a wonderful array of prominent lecture speakers,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “Their deep insights into education issues and their expertise on research opportunities and challenges will make these lectures especially compelling.”

Both the 2021 and 2020 AERA Distinguished Lectures and the 2021 and 2020 Wallace Foundation Distinguished Lectures will be presented.

Sylvia Hurtado

2021 AERA Distinguished Lecture
Sylvia Hurtado, University of California, Los Angeles
Friday, April 9, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET





Cynthia B. Dillard

2021 Wallace Foundation Distinguished Lecture
Cynthia B. Dillard, University of Georgia
Title: “When We (Re)member, ‘Everything is Possible’: Black Women Teachers and the Spirit of Our Work”
Sunday, April 11, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET




Vivian L. Gadsden

2020 AERA Distinguished Lecture
Vivian L. Gadsden, University of Pennsylvania
Title: “The Education and Social Imperative for Responsibility and Partnerships: Can Children and Their Families Count on Us?”
Friday, April 9, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET






Cecilia Rios-Aguilar

2020 Wallace Foundation Distinguished Lecture
Cecilia Rios-Aguilar, University of California, Los Angeles
Title: “Research as Resistencia: Studying Community Colleges as Sites of Hope, Possibilities, and Transformation through a Systems/Funds of Knowledge Approach”
Saturday, April 10, 12:20 pm–1:20 pm ET




Seven awards lectures will be delivered by 2020 and 2019 AERA award recipients at the 2021 Annual Meeting.

Howard E. Gardner

2020 AERA Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award Lecture
Howard E. Gardner, Harvard University
Title: “To an Aspiring Researcher: Twelve Pieces of Advice?”
Saturday, April 10, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET




David O. Stovall

2020 AERA Social Justice in Education Award Lecture
David O. Stovall, University of Illinois at Chicago
Title: “Abolition Is Only the Beginning: Justice and the Imperative of Fugitivity in Educational Research”
Friday, April 9, 4:10–5:40 p.m. ET




Lindsay Page

2020 AERA Early Career Award Lecture
Lindsay Page, University of Pittsburgh
Title: “Can Text-Based Nudges Improve College-Going Outcomes at Scale? Promising Results, Limitations, and Implications for Scale”
Sunday, April 11, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET




Randy E. Bennett

2020 AERA E. F. Lindquist Award Lecture
Randy E. Bennett, Educational Testing Service
Title: “Equity and Assessment in the Post-COVID-19 Era”
Saturday, April 10, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET 




Robert Slavin

2019 AERA Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award Lecture
Robert Slavin, Johns Hopkins University
Title: “Evidence to Impact: Combatting Covid Loss With Proven Tutoring”
Saturday, April 10, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET




Jeannette Mancilla-Martinez

2019 AERA Early Career Award Lecture
Jeannette Mancilla-Martinez, Vanderbilt University
Title: “Changing the Deficit Discourse Regarding Language Diversity in U.S. Schools: The Power of Spoken Language in Reading Acquisition and Development”
Friday, April 9, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET 





Mark R. Wilson

2019 AERA E.F. Lindquist Award Lecture
Mark R. Wilson, University of California, Berkeley
Title: “Finding the Right Grain-size for Measurement in the Classroom”
Friday, April 9, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET 




In addition, a lecture will be given by the recipient of the Federation of Associations in Behavioral & Brain Sciences (FABBS) 2021 Early Career Impact Award.

Emily Rauscher

Federation of Associations in Behavioral & Brain Sciences (FABBS) 2021 Early Career Impact Award Lecture
Emily Rauscher, Brown University
Saturday, April 10, 12:20–1:20 p.m. ET 

See the related Highlights story on Rauscher’s award.

For additional information about these lectures, visit the 2021 Annual Meeting program.