AERA Announces 2015 Award Winners in Education Research

March 2015

AERA has announced the winners of its 2015 awards for excellence in education research. AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at an awards ceremony on April 18 at the AERA Annual Meeting in Chicago.

“We are proud to honor the outstanding commitment and accomplishments of this year’s award winners,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “Through their scholarship and service to the field, they stand as exemplars to AERA’s 25,000 members and to all who are committed to the study and practice of education in the United States and elsewhere.” 

AERA announced 13 award winners in 11 association-wide categories.

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award

Andrew C. Porter (University of Pennsylvania)

The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research. It is designed to publicize, motivate, encourage, and suggest models for education research at its best.

Andrew C. Porter

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award

Matthew A. Kraft (Brown University)
John P. Papay (Brown University)

Can Professional Environments in Schools Promote Teacher Development? Explaining Heterogeneity in Returns to Teaching Experience" (PDF)
Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis, December 2014, 36 (4), 476-500

The Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award is presented annually to recognize the highest quality of academic scholarship published in one of the following AERA publications: American Educational Research Journal, Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis, Educational Researcher, or Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics.

Matthew A. Kraft

John P. Papay


Review of Research Award


Jeanne M. Powers (Arizona State University)


"From Segregation to School Finance: The Legal Context for Language Rights in the United States(PDF). 

Review of Research in Education, 2014, 38(1), 81–105 


The Review of Research Award recognizes an outstanding review of research article published in one of the following AERA publications: Review of Educational Research or Review of Research in Education. 

Jeanne M. Powers


E. F. Lindquist Award


Howard Wainer (National Board of Medical Examiners) 


This award is presented jointly by AERA and ACT in recognition of outstanding applied or theoretical research in the field of testing and measurement. The award is meant to acknowledge a body of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature rather than a single study. 

Howard Wainer 

Early Career Award

Brendesha M. Tynes (University of Southern California) 


Established to honor an individual in the early stages of his or her career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree, this award can be granted for study in any field of educational inquiry. 

Brendesha M. Tynes 

Outstanding Book Award


David P. Baker (Pennsylvania State University)


The Schooled Society: The Educational Transformation of Global Culture, Stanford University Press, 2014 


The Outstanding Book Award was established to acknowledge and honor the year’s best book-length publication in education research and development. 

David P. Baker

Social Justice in Education Award


Gloria J. Ladson-Billings (University of Wisconsin–Madison) 


Established in 2004, the Social Justice in Education Award honors an individual who has advanced social justice through education research and exemplified the goal of linking education research to social justice. 

Gloria J. Ladson-Billings 

Distinguished Public Service Award


Joseph Conaty (U.S. Department of Education) 


This award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that are well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research. 

Joseph Conaty


Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards

The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education awards are intended to recognize (a) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations, and (b) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to education research and development. 

Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award


Patricia C. Gándara (University of California–Los Angeles) 


Presented to a senior-level scholar, usually 20 years or more after his or her receipt of the doctoral degree. 

Patricia C. Gándara

Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award


Kevin K. Kumashiro (University of San Francisco) 


Presented to a scholar in midcareer who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree. 

Kevin K. Kumashiro

Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award


Ebony O. McGee (Vanderbilt University) 


Presented to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career after receipt of the doctoral degree. 

Ebony O. McGee 

Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award


Charol Shakeshaft (Virginia Commonwealth University) 


Established in 2006, the Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award recognizes individuals within AERA for distinguished research, professional practice, and activities that advance public understanding of gender and/or sexuality at any level in the education community.

Charol Shakeshaft