NASEM Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education Announces Carlotta M. Arthur as New Executive Director

January 2022

Carlotta M. Arthur has been named the new executive director of the Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education (DBASSE) of the National Academies of Sciences. Arthur currently serves as the director of the Clare Boothe Luce Program for Women in STEM at the Henry Luce Foundation. Previously, Arthur served as director of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program and as program officer of diversity initiatives at the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

“AERA is very pleased to learn of Dr. Arthur’s appointment and offers our congratulations and warm wishes to her in this new role,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “We look forward to working closely on DBASSE’s important mission and to future collaborations between AERA and DBASSE on issues important to the education research field.”

Arthur earned her M.A. in psychology and Ph.D. in clinical psychology, with an emphasis on psychophysiology/health psychology, from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. She was a member of the inaugural cohort of W. K. Kellogg Scholars in Health Disparities at the Harvard School of Public Health.

DBASSE has an essential role in convening experts in the social and behavioral sciences and providing independent and objective recommendations that address important issues of national interest.  Arthur starts as executive director on February 14. She succeeds Mary Ellen O’Connell, who retired after more than 20 years at the National Academies.