Lee, Datnow to Present 2022 Distinguished Annual Meeting Lectures

February 2022

AERA President Na’ilah Suad Nasir has announced prominent scholars Carol D. Lee and Amanda Datnow as major speakers at the 2022 Annual Meeting. The meeting—scheduled for April 21–26—is the largest annual gathering of scholars in the education research field and is a showcase for groundbreaking, innovative work in a diverse array of subject areas. Both lectures will be given on site at the annual meeting in San Diego and livestreamed on the virtual platform.

Lee, Edwina S. Tarry Professor of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern University, will give the AERA Distinguished Lecture on April 24, from 1:15 to 2:15 p.m. PT in Ballroom 6F in the San Diego Convention Center.  Lee has five decades of experience helping students from minority backgrounds. Her research focuses on cultural and ecological supports for learning, with a specialized focus on literacy. Lee is the recipient of AERA’s 2021 Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award.

Datnow, Professor and Chancellor’s Associates Endowed Chair at the University of California San Diego, will give the AERA Wallace Foundation Distinguished Lecture on April 23, from 1:15 to 2:15 p.m. PT in Ballroom 6F in the San Diego Convention Center. Datnow’s research focuses on educational reform and policy, in particular in regard to equity and educators’ professional lives. Widely published in leading journals and the author of eight books, she also serves on several journal editorial boards as well as boards and committees that promote equity and excellence in education.

Both lectures are chaired by Nasir. Stay tuned for additional information on noteworthy sessions as the AERA 2022 Annual Meeting approaches. The meeting’s theme is “Cultivating Equitable Education Systems for the 21st Century.”

Click here to register for the Annual Meeting. Early bird registration ends on March 15. Be sure to obtain or renew your AERA membership before registering for the meeting to receive the registration discount.