AERA 2023 Election—Voting Opens January 18

December 2022

The AERA 2023 election will open on Wednesday, January 18, 2023, with voting conducted by electronic ballot. All 2022 voting members and all 2023 voting members who have joined or renewed by Monday, January 9, are eligible to vote. AERA encourages all those interested in voting to join or renew their membership as a voting member by January 9 and participate in the election of the AERA leadership.

Voting members will receive a personalized link by e-mail to access their ballot. The election is held over a 30-day period and will conclude on Thursday, February 16, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. PST. All voting members are urged to exercise their right to vote. Exercising that right is an important moment of democratic participation, whether in democracies large or small.

The election includes candidates for the offices of AERA President-Elect, Council Member-at-Large, division officers, special interest group (SIG) officers, SIG Executive Committee officers, and Graduate Student Council officers.

Nominees for Office of President-Elect:
Mark Berends, University of Notre Dame
Janelle T. Scott, University of California, Berkeley

Nominees for Office of Member-at-Large:
Dorinda Carter Andrews, Michigan State University
Eddie R. Cole, University of California, Los Angeles
John B. Diamond, Brown University
Anne-Marie Núñez, University of Texas at El Paso

The nominees for all division, SIG Executive Committee, and Graduate Student Council offices are posted on the AERA website. Biographical statements of all candidates will be included with the ballot.

AERA is in a write-in period during which additional nominations may be added to the ballot. Additional nominations for the office of AERA President-Elect and Member-at-Large may be submitted to the Executive Director by written request of five percent (5%) or more of the voting members of the Association. Additional nominations for a division office may also be submitted to the Executive Director by written request of five percent (5%) or more of the voting members of that division. All such nominations must be received by the Executive Director by Monday, January 9, 2023 (11:59 PST). Write-ins should be emailed to   

The results of the election will be reported on the AERA website and in the February issue of AERA Highlights.