AERA 2020 Election — Voting Opens January 14

Editor's note: The following story was updated after publication to reflect a change in the nominees for Council Members-at-Large. 

December 2019

On Tuesday, January 14, 2020, AERA will open the 2020 election with voting conducted by electronic ballot. Voting members will receive a personalized link by e-mail to access their ballot. The election is held over a 30-day period and will conclude on Wednesday, February 12, 2020. All voting members are urged to exercise their right to vote. The vitality of the Association depends on an active membership and leadership.

The election includes candidates for the offices of AERA president-elect, Council member-at-large, division officers, special interest group (SIG) officers, SIG Executive Committee members, and Graduate Student Council officers.

Nominees for Office of President-Elect:

  • Na’ilah Suad Nasir, Spencer Foundation
  • Zeus Leonardo, University of California, Berkeley

Nominees for Office of Council Member-at-Large:

  • James Earl Davis, Temple University
  • Diana E. Hess, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Teresa L. McCarty, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Lois Weis, University at Buffalo, State University of New York

The nominees for all offices are posted on the AERA website.

Additional nominations for the office of AERA president-elect and member-at-large may be submitted to the executive director by written request of five percent (5%) or more of the voting members of the Association. Additional nominations for a division office may also be submitted to the executive director by written request of five percent (5%) or more of the voting members of that division. All such nominations must be received by the executive director by Tuesday, January 7, 2020 (11:59 p.m. PST).

All 2019 voting members and all 2020 voting members of record as of Tuesday, January 7, 2020 (11:59 p.m. PST) are eligible to vote. You can join or renew your membership as a voting member by January 7 and cast your ballot for the AERA leadership.

Biographical statements of all candidates will be included with the ballot. The results of the election will be reported on the AERA website and in the February issue of AERA Highlights.