AERA 2023 Class of Fellows Inducted at Ceremony at the AERA Annual Meeting in Chicago

April 2023

Photo of the 2023 Fellows Breakfast

Twenty-four new AERA fellows were inducted at the AERA Fellows Breakfast on Friday, April 14, at the place-based component of the 2023 AERA Annual Meeting in Chicago. These exemplary scholars join the 714 previous AERA Fellows. Representing the diversity of the field, these individuals are recognized for their exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research or significant contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings.

The breakfast began with introductory remarks by AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine and then welcoming remarks by Fellows Committee Chair Patricia Alexander. Following Dr. Alexander’s remarks, each fellow was celebrated with a short video and a plaque. Citations and videos highlighting the accomplishment of the 2023 Fellows are on the AERA website.

Levine and Alexander emphasized the value of the program in advancing excellence in research and enabling the next generation of emerging scholars to appreciate both the value of sustained achievements in research and the breadth of scholarship worthy of recognition.

Felice J. Levine speaking at the Fellows Breakfast

The new Fellows, listed below, were nominated by their peers, selected by the Fellows Program Committee, and approved by the AERA Council. The Fellows Program Committee includes Chair Patricia Alexander and members Hilda Borko, Carol Camp Yeakey, Kris D. Gutiérrez, Larry V. Hedges, Valerie Kinloch, Okhee Lee, Ernest D. Morrell, II, and Christine E. Sleeter.


2023 Fellows

Group photo of the 2023 AERA Fellows