Eight Education Researchers Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 2021

Eight education researchers, including three AERA presidents, have been elected to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The academy announced the 2021 election of 252 individuals as new members on April 22.

The newly elected education researchers are:

AERA President Na’ilah Suad Nasir
Spencer Foundation
AERA Past President Vanessa Siddle Walker
Emory University
AERA Past President James A. Banks
University of Washington
James D. Anderson
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ann S. Masten
University of Minnesota
Luis C. Moll
University of Arizona
Barbara Rogoff
University of California, Santa Cruz
Linda Tuhiwai Te Rina Smith
University of Waikato
























Founded in 1780, the academy is an honorary society that is dedicated to recognizing excellence and relying on expertise to advance the public good. Accomplished individuals across the public, nonprofit, and private sectors are selected to shape the future and advance the common good.

“AERA offers a big congratulations to these extraordinary scholars for this important honor,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “They represent the highest quality of work in the education research community. Through their election into the academy, they will help advance knowledge produced by the field and its application to the most complex problems that we face today.”

More than 13,500 members have been elected since the founding of the academy. They are leaders in every field and profession. Previous AERA leaders inducted include AERA Past Presidents Deborah Loewenberg Ball, Linda Darling-Hammond, Kris D. Gutiérrez, Gloria Ladson-Billings, Carol D. Lee, Lauren B. Resnick, Lee S. Shulman, and Catherine E. Snow.