AERA Nominating Committees Announce 2017 Slates for Offices

November 2016

2017 Reports from AERA and Division 
Nominating Committees

This is the official announcement of reports from the 2017 AERA and Division Nominating Committees, developed in accordance with Article VII, Section 2, of the Association Bylaws. Additional nominations for the office of AERA President-Elect and Member-at-Large may be submitted to the Executive Director by written request of five percent (5%) or more of the voting members of the Association. Additional nominations for a division office may also be submitted to the Executive Director by written request of five percent (5%) or more of the voting members of that division. All such nominations must be received by the Executive Director by December 30, 2016.

A biographical statement for each candidate will be posted on the AERA website.

See below for Election Regulations – Candidate Campaigning Policy.

E-mail notification of electronic balloting will be sent to all AERA voting members in January 2017. AERA voting members who wish to receive their customized ballot in print form by postal mail should contact the AERA Central Office by e-mail at; by postal mail at American Educational Research Association, Attn: Governance, 1430 K Street, NW, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005; or by phone at (202) 238-3200.

AERA Nominating Committee: Kris D. Gutiérrez (Chair), Mitchell J. Chang, Sylvia Hurtado, Carla D. O’Connor, Lorrie A. Shepard

Nominees for Office of President-Elect: James D. Anderson, University of Illinois–Urbana-Champaign; Alfredo J. Artiles, Arizona State University; Amy Stuart Wells, Teachers College, Columbia University

Nominees for Office of Member-at-Large (3-year term; two candidates to be elected): James Earl Davis, Temple University; Stella M. Flores, New York University; Roslyn Arlin Mickelson, University of North Carolina–Charlotte; Ernest D. Morrell, II, Teachers College, Columbia University

Division A: Administration, Organization, and Leadership: Nominating Committee: Ira E. Bogotch, Floyd D. Beachum, Sonya D. Hayes, Megan Tschannen-Moran

Nominees for Office of Vice President: Mónica Byrne-Jiménez, Hofstra University; Sonya Douglass Horsford, Teachers College, Columbia University

Division B: Curriculum Studies: Nominating Committee: Robert James Helfenbein, Jr. (Chair), Kristen L. Buras, Kirsten Edwards, Walter S. Gershon, Nichole A. Guillory, Crystal T. Laura, Brian D. Schultz, Luis Urrieta, Jr.

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Vonzell Agosto, University of South Florida; Theodorea Regina Berry, University of Texas–San Antonio; Nicholas D. Hartlep, Metropolitan State University

Division C: Learning and Instruction: Nominating Committee: P. Karen Murphy (Chair), Margaret McKeown, Patricia A. Alexander, Richard E. Mayer, Gale M. Sinatra

Nominees for Office of Vice President: Sandra Graham, University of California–Los Angeles; Kimberly A. Lawless, University of Illinois at Chicago

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Daniel L. Dinsmore, University of North Florida; Christine M. Greenhow, Michigan State University

Division D: Measurement and Research Methodology: Nominating Committee: Wayne J. Camara (Chair), Linda L. Cook, Barbara S. Plake

Nominees for Office of Vice President: Susan Davis-Becker, ACS Ventures; Ellen E. Forte, edCount, LLC; Cindy M. Walker, Duquesne University

Division F: History and Historiography: Nominating Committee: Linda M. Perkins (Chair), Joy Williamson-Lott, Dionne Danns, Laura K. Muñoz

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Louis Ray, Fairleigh Dickinson University; Ansley T. Erickson, Teacher's College, Columbia University

Division G: Social Context of Education: Nominating Committee: Erika C. Bullock (Chair), Maria-Antonieta Avila, Dana Thompson Dorsey, Fabienne Doucet, Ana Christina da Silva Iddings, Travis S. Wright

Nominees for Office of Secretary: David W. Stinson, Georgia State University; Laura A. Roy, Pennsylvania State University––Harrisburg

Division H: Research, Evaluation, & Assessment in Schools: Nominating Committee: Judith A. Arter (Chair), Joseph M. O’Reilly, Evelyn Belton-Kocher, Zollie Stevenson, Jr.

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Whitney Elaine Wall Bortz, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; Nyambura Susan Maina, Montgomery County Public Schools; Thy Nguyen, Norfolk Public Schools

Division I: Education in the Professions: Nominating Committee: Dorthea H. Juul (Chair), Eugene L. Anderson, Mark A. Lopez, Ara Tekian, LuAnn Wilkerson

Nominees for Office of Vice President: Yoon Soo Park, University of Illinois at Chicago; Paul F. Wimmers, University of California–Los Angeles

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Monica M. Cuddy, National Board of Medical Examiners; Ting Dong, The Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences



Election Regulations – Candidate Campaigning Policy
(Approved by AERA Council, April 2011)

The following sets forth the campaigning policy to guide candidates and the American Educational Research Association through the election process.

  • The biographical sketch accompanying each ballot shall be the primary mechanism for a candidate to provide the AERA voting membership with information regarding his/her qualifications. Biographical sketches (with or without personal statements) of candidates are limited to 350 words for officers who also serve on the AERA Council by virtue of their roles and 200 words for all other candidates.
  • AERA discourages campaigning by candidates and their supporters. Nothing in this policy precludes campaigning as long as campaigning does not include, directly or indirectly, using any of the means of communication with members made available through the Association and does not involve the material expenditure of funds by candidates or their supporters. Candidates are encouraged to seek guidance from the Executive Director or her or his designee in areas of uncertainty.
  • Candidates who have access to AERA information or the tools and technology of the Association may not use them to campaign (e.g., a division vice president or SIG chair who is a candidate for another AERA position urging constituents to vote).
  • Any violation of these regulations shall be reported immediately to the Executive Director. If the allegations are substantiated to the satisfaction of the Executive Director, then the matter shall be referred to the AERA Ethics Committee for consideration in accord with the procedures of that committee. A finding of fault can lead to disciplinary action.