2020 Award for Excellence in Media Reporting on Education Research—October 31 Nominations Deadline

Editors and reporters:

The nominations deadline for the American Educational Research Association’s 2020 Award for Excellence in Media Reporting on Education Research is October 31. The award is presented to an individual in the media who has demonstrated excellence in raising awareness, knowledge, and understanding of education research. The award will be presented at the 2020 AERA Annual Meeting in San Francisco (April 17-21, 2020).
Recipients of the award are individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to reporting on findings, bodies of research, or scholarship in the field of education research in any medium of public communication. The award honors a media professional whose work exemplifies promoting a broader vision of the value of education research to society.

The call for nominations can be found online here. AERA is sometimes asked about the length of the required “detailed statement (maximum 1,000 words) that describes how the nominee’s reporting advances public understanding of significant issues in education research.” That statement can be brief (e.g., 250 words), but should not exceed 1,000 words. Questions about the nomination process can be directed to governance@aera.net or (202) 238-3200.
Past recipients of the award, first given in 2016, are John Merrow (2016), Emily Hanford (2017), Matt Barnum (2018), and Jill Barshay (2019).


Tony Pals
Director of Communications
American Educational Research Association
(202) 238-3235