Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award

Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award

2020 Award Recipient 

Maria Coady
University of Florida

The selection committee was deeply impressed with Dr. Coady’s long-term efforts in developing community partnerships for the preparation of teacher leaders in a university certification program with a focus on bilingual education teachers and students in rural Levy County, Florida. To serve this community, she has established professional learning communities and built a strong resource base that has brought much-needed bilingual materials to under-researched and under-served bilingual children. In 2019, she organized the first statewide Rural English Learner Education Conference at the University of Florida on trauma-informed care. Because of her broad reach, impact, scholarship, and devotion to a marginal community within an already marginal rural context in Florida, Dr. Coady embodies of the intent of this award.

The Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award is presented to an education research scholar or scholars in recognition of collaborative project(s) between researchers and practitioners that have had sustained and observable effects on contexts of practice.

Research conducted in settings in which collaboration between researchers and practitioners is integral to addressing challenging issues, constructing research-based innovations, or undertaking research‐based evaluations that have an impact beyond a single program or site are eligible for consideration. 

For purposes of this award, practice settings are understood to span the spectrum of educational contexts and levels of education, including informal environments, in which learning occurs. This award excludes work designed to influence the larger public or policy makers, or to have an indirect influence on education settings or practice though publications or research. 

The award will be presented annually, but may represent work conducted within a five-year time frame preceding the year in which the award is conferred. 

Past Recipients

2019 - Cristina Santamaría Graff
2018 - Angela Calabrese Barton
2017 - 
Ann M. Ishimaru
2016 - Robert Cooper III

Before 2016, this award was recognized as the Relating Research to Practice Award.