This award was created to recognize a scholar of giftedness, creativity or talent development and a collaborator who has not previously published scholarship associated with giftedness, creativity, or talent. The award is given to those who seek to promote scholarship in the area of giftedness, creativity, and talent to the larger education research community through collaborations and who concurrently benefit from the insights of important scholars who have not previously studied or written about gifted, talented, or creative populations.

 Eligibility Criteria

The awards is given to collaborators of a paper which meets the following criteria:

  • Publication (may be “In Press”) in a gifted or creativity journal such as Gifted Child Quarterly, Journal for the Education of the Gifted, Roeper Review, High Ability Studies, Journal of Advanced Academics, Journal of Creative Behavior, or Creativity Research Journal. The paper must have been published after January, 2016.
  • Co-author is post Ph.D., has not previously published in the fields of giftedness, creativity, or talent development, but has a strong history of published scholarship in another field (CV of co-author should be submitted).
  • The potential impact of the work on the fields of giftedness, creativity, or talent development should be significant.

Nomination Process and Timelines

  • Award candidates may be nominated or self-nominate.
  • Nominations must be submitted electronically as a pdf and include a copy of the paper, a one-page rationale describing the potential impact of the work on the fields of giftedness, creativity, or talent development, and a CV of the co-author.
  • Applications will be due January 26, 2018.

Selection Criteria

  • Quality of the article (including methods, data, findings, and publication venue
  • Quality of the collaborator as evidenced by CV
  • Potential impact of the scholarship

Form of Recognition

  • Cash award of $250 for the first 2 authors of the winning paper
  • Plaque for each scholar
  • Recognition at the SIG business meeting

Electronic pdf submissions must be sent to the chair of the awards committee, Marcia Gentry (mgentry@purdue.edu) by 5 p.m. CST on January 26, 2018. Please use Michael Pryrt Award as the subject line of the email.