2018 Recipient

Donna E. Shalala
University of Miami           

Throughout her career as an accomplished scholar, teacher, administrator, foundation president, and federal servant, Dr. Donna E. Shalala has repeatedly demonstrated her commitment to using research and evidence to shape policy and practice. This was evident during her eight years as the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services. It was also fundamental in her service on various national task forces and committees, as well as in her leadership of higher education institutions. One of the most honored academics of her generation, Dr. Shalala has been elected to seven national academies, including the National Academy of Education.





The Distinguished Public Service Award recognizes an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that were well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research. 

The award is given by members of AERA’s Government Relations Committee, on behalf of the Association. It was established in 2002 and presented for the first time on April 23, 2003 during AERA’s 84th Annual Meeting in Chicago. 

Award recipients present a major address at AERA’s Annual Meeting, where the annual award is presented. 

Past Recipients

2017 - Michael W. Kirst
2016 - Shirley Malcom
2015 - Joseph Conaty
2014 - Ruby Takanishi
2013 - Freeman A. Hrabowski III
2012 - Jerry D. Weast
2011 - Emerson J. Elliott
2010 - Beverly L. Hall
2008 - Bruce Alberts
2007 - Jack Jennings
2005 - Ronald A. Wolk
2004 - Richard C. Atkinson
2003 - James B. Hunt