Division Officers

Division B Officers and Program Chairs

(2014-2015)

 

Vice-President

Ming Fang He (mfhe@georgiasouthern.edu)

Georgia Southern University
Department of Curriculum, Foundations, and Reading
College of Education,
237 Forest Drive

Statesboro, GA 30460-8144

Secretary

 

Isabel Nuñez (isabel.nunez@cuchicago.edu)
Concordia University Chicago
Center for Policy Studies and Social Justice
1107 Monroe Street
River Forest, IL 60305

Program Co-Chairs - Overall

 

Pamela Konkol (pamela.konkol@cuchicago.edu)

Concordia University Chicago

Foundations and Social Policy

7400 Augusta Street

River Forest, IL 60305

 

Jennifer Milam (jlmilam@uakron.edu)

Elementary School Principal

Our Lady of the Elms Elementary School

1290 West Market St | Akron, OH 44313-7108

 

Section Chairs

1. Critical and Post-foundationalist Perspectives and Practices

 

Debbie Sonu (debbie.sonu@gmail.com)

School of Education

Curriculum and Teaching

Hunter College

695 Park Avenue

New York, NY  10065

 

Wade Tillett (tillettw@uww.ed)

University of Wisconsin – Whitewater

Department of Curriculum & Instruction
College of Education & Professional Studies
Winther Hall Room 3050
800 W. Main Street, Whitewater, WI 53190

 

2. Decolonizing, Transnational, and Indigenous Inquiry

 

Noah Sobe (nsobe@luc.edu)

Loyola University Chicago

Cultural and Educational Policy Studies

820 N Michigan Ave

Chicago, IL 60611 USA

 

Nicholas Ng-A-Fook (nngafook@uottawa.ca)

University of Ottawa

Faculty of Education

Lamoureux Hall (LMX) 432
Jean-Jacques-Lussier Private
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 6N5 Canada

3. Challenging Methodological and Representational Boundaries

 

Travis Wright (tswright2@wisc.edu)

University of Wisconsin –Madison

Department of Curriculum and Instruction

225 North Mills Street

Madison, WI  53706

 

Jorge Lucero (jlucero@illinois.edu)

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

School of Art & Design

408 E. Peabody Drive, Champaign, IL, 61820

 

4. Spatial Justice: Youth, Community Activism, and Ecologies

 

Min Yu (MinYu@missouristate.edu)

Missouri State University

Department of Childhood Education and Family Studies

Hill Hall 205D, 901 S. National Ave

Springfield, MO 65897

 

M. Francyne Huckaby (f.huckaby@tcu.edu)

Texas Christian University

Center for Public Education
College of Education
TCU Box 297900  (3000 Bellaire Dr. N)

Fort Worth, TX 76129Arts, Youth, and Action

 

5. Historical, Philosophical, and (Inter)Disciplinary Knowledges

 

Ricardo Rosa (rrosa2@umassd.edu)

University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

Educational Leadership
200 Mill Road, Fairhaven, Room: 21

North Dartmouth, MA 02747-2300

 

Sabrina Ross (sross@georgiasouthern.edu)

Georgia Southern University
Department of Curriculum, Foundations, and Reading
College of Education,
237 Forest Drive

Statesboro, GA 30460-8144

 

6. Cultural Studies: Critical Media Literacies, Popular Culture, and Posthumanisms

 

Jake Burdick (burdics@purdue.edu)

Purdue University

Department of Curriculum and Instruction

College of Education

100 N. University St., West Lafayette, IN 47907

 

Jung Kim (KimJu@lewisu.edu)

Lewis University

Department of Reading & Literacy

College of Education
DL306
, One University Parkway
Romeoville, IL 60446-2200

 

Newsletter Editors

 

Diane Watt (dwat@ucalgary.ca)

University of Calgary

Werklund Foundation Centre for Youth Leadership Education

Faculty of Education,

2500 University Dr. NW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada T2N 1N4

 

Suniti Sharma (ssharma@sju.edu)

St. Joseph’s University

Graduate Teacher Education

5600 City Avenue

Philadelphia, PA  19131

 

Affirmative Action Officer

 

Crystal Laura (claura@csu.edu)

Chicago State University

College of Education

9501 S. King Drive, ED 233, Chicago, IL 60628, USA

 

Student Representatives

 

Kristen Earnise Duncan (msduncan@uga.edu)

Division B Senior Graduate Student Representative

University of Georgia

           

Adrianne Rochelle Pinkney (adriannepinkney@hotmail.com)

Division B Junior Graduate Student Representative

Emory University

 

Nomination Committee

 

Denise Taliaferro Baszile (Chair)

Educational Leadership

Miami University, Oxford, OH

Phone: 513-529-1798

Email: taliafda@miamioh.edu

 

Vonzell Agosto (vagosto@usf.edu)

Curriculum studies, Leaderships, and Education Policy Studies

University of South Florida, Tampa, FL

 

Wayne Au (wayneau@u.washington.edu)

Educational Studies

University of Washington, Bothell, WA

 

Kirsten Edwards (Kirsten.t.edwards@ou.edu)

Higher Education, Educational Leadership, and Policy Studies

University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK

 

Walter Gershon (wgershon@kent.edu)

Teaching, Learning and Curriculum

Kent State University, Kent, OH

 

Nichole Guillory (nguillo1@kennesaw.edu)

Secondary and Middle Grades Education

Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, GA

 

Cheryl Matias (Cheryl.Matias@ucdenver.edu)

Urban Community Teacher Education

University of Colorado, Denver

 

Roland Mitchell (rwmitch@lsu.edu)

Human Sciences and Education

Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA

 

Suniti Sharma (ssharma@sju.edu)

Teacher Education

Saint Joseph’s University, Philadelphia, PA

 

Luis Urrieta, Jr. (Urrieta@austin.utexas.edu)

Cultural Studies in Education

University of Texas, Austin

 

Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award Committee

Dr. Rubén Gaztambide-Fernández (Chair)
Associate Professor & Editor of Curriculum Inquiry
Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at The University of Toronto
252 Bloor Street West
Toronto, ON M5S 1V6
Email: rgaztambide@oise.utoronto.ca
Research Areas: Decolonizing Curriculum Theories, Critical Youth Studies, Arts in Education, Community Activism, and Activism in Education

B. Stephen Carpenter II (bsc5@psu.edu)
Critical Social Media Studies, Art Education, Critical Visual Arts and Museum Studies, Critical Mixed Media Studies
Penn State University

 

Adam Howard (mahoward@colby.edu)
Activism, Diversity, and Social Justice in Education
C
olby College

 

Lisa (Leigh) Patel (lps@bc.edu),
Journalism, Sociology of Education, Undocumented Immigration, and Decolonized Research
Boston College

 

Troy Richardson (tar37@cornell.edu)
 Indigenous Philosophical Traditions, Indigenous Studies & Education
Cornell University

 

Lifetime Achievement Award Committee

 

William Ayers (billayers123@gmail.com)(Chair)

Former Division B VP

Deinstitutionalized Activist/Scholar

Beverly E. Cross (
becross@memphis.edu)
The Lillian and Morrie Moss Chair of Excellence in Urban Education
University of Memphis

Nina Asher (
nasher@umn.edu)
Department of Curriculum and Instruction
University Of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Minnesota, MN

Therese Quinn (
therese.quinn@gmail.com),
Associate Professor of Art History and Director of Museum and Exhibition Studies 
University of Illinois at Chicago


David Stovall (
dostoval@uic.edu
University of Illinois at Chicago

Patrick Camangian, Ph.D. (
pcamangian@usfca.edu)
School of Education
University of San Francisco

 

Oustanding Book Award Committee

Robert J. Helfenbein, Ph.D. (Chair)Associate Dean 
Associate Professor of Curriculum Studies
Loyola University Maryland 
School of Education 
4501 N. Charles Street, XA 108 
Baltimore, Maryland 21210 
Phone: 410-617-5377 Email: rjhelfenbein@loyola.edu
 
Pauline Sameshima (psameshima@lakeheadu.ca)
Lakehead University
Canada

 

Ugena Whitlock (rwhitlo3@kennesaw.edu)
Kennesaw State University

 

Adrienne Dixson (addixson@illinois.edu), Education Policy, Organization and Leadership
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Walter Gershon (wgershon@kent.edu)
Teaching, Learning & Curriculum Studies
Kent State University

Oustanding Dissertation Award Committee

 

Nathalia E. Jaramillo (Chair)
Deputy Chief Diversity Officer and 
Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies 
Office of Diversity and Inclusion 
Kennesaw State University 
1000 Chastain Road, MD #2702 
English Building Room 204 
Kennesaw, GA 30144-5591
Phone: 678-797-2243 
Email: njaramil@kennesaw.edu

 

Yer J. Thao (thaoy@pdx.edu)
Curriculum and Instruction
Portland State University

 

Cynthia Cole Robinson (robinsonc@purduecal.edu)
Purdue University

Seungho Moon (seungho.moon@okstate.edu)
Oklahoma State University-Stillwater

 

Horace Hall (hhall@depaul.edu)
DePaul University

 

Julie Maudlin (jmaudlin@georgiasouthern.edu)
Georgia Southern University

 

Sonia Janis (soniaelj@uga.edu)
University of Georgia

 

Task Force on Curriculum in International Contexts

 

John Chi-Kin Lee (Co-Chair) (jcklee@ied.edu.hk)
Chair Professor of Curriculum and Instruction
Vice President (Academic)
The Hong Kong Institute of Education, HK

Dr. Yoonjung Choi (Co-Chair)

(yoonjung.choi@ewha.ac.kr)
Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Korea
 

Historian/Communication Officers

 

James C Jupp (jcjup@georgiasouthern.edu or jcjupp@gmail.com),
Teaching & Learning
Georgia Southern University

 

Candace Schlein (schleinc@umkc.edu)
Curriculum and Instructional Leadership
University of Missouri, Kansas City

 

Membership Committee

 

Sherell McArthur (Chair) (Sherell.McArthur@gmail.com)
Georgia State University

Shaka Rawls (srawls2@uic.edu)
University of Illinois at Chicago