AERA's Awards Program is one of the most prominent ways for education researchers to recognize and honor the outstanding scholarship and service of their peers. Recipients of AERA awards are announced and recognized during the Annual Awards Luncheon. A Call for Nominations for AERA Awards is published each summer in Highlights and also appears on the AERA website. Nominations are generally due in the fall. For a list of members currently serving on each of AERA’s award committees, or additional information about each award, click here for award committee rosters.

For additional information or answers to your questions regarding the AERA Awards Program, please contact the Governance Department at

2014 AERA Awards Recipients

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award
Douglas Fuchs
Vanderbilt University

Lynn S. Fuchs
Vanderbilt University

Adam Gamoran
William T. Grant Foundation  

Distinguished Public Service Award
Ruby Takanishi
New America Foundation 

Early Career Award
Sara Goldrick-Rab
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Mary Helen Immordino-Yang
University of Southern California

E. F. Lindquist Award
Mark D. Reckase
Michigan State University

Outstanding Book Award
David L. Kirp
University of California, Berkeley

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award
Liliana Garces
Pennsylvania State University

Relating Research to Practice Award
Interpretive Scholarship Category Recipient
Shaun R. Harper
University of Pennsylvania       

Review of Research
Michael A. Lawson
Binghampton University

Hal A. Lawson
University of Albany, SUNY

Social Justice in Education Award
Michael A. Olivas
University of Houston

Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards
Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award
Janelle T. Scott
University of California, Berkeley

Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
Dorinda Carter Andrews
Michigan State University

Eve Tuck
SUNY, College at New Paltz
AERA Announces 2015 Award Winners
AERA announced the winners of eleven of its twelve 2015 awards for excellence in education research. AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at an awards ceremony on April 18, at the Annual Meeting. Read more
2014 AERA Awards Luncheon
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH